This page contains Amazon affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.

A portable power station is the no-installation option for home backup: keep it charged, and when the grid goes down, plug the fridge, router and lights into it. It does not replace a wired home battery system, but it can carry essentials through an outage and recharge from the wall or solar panels. The five below are all LiFePO4 (LFP) units from about 1.5 kWh to an expandable 4 kWh system.

Every specification on this page comes from the manufacturer’s own product page, checked on 26 October 2026. We have not used these products ourselves, so the picks are based on published specifications only.

Work out what you need first with how much home battery capacity do you need and home battery specifications explained. For wired systems, see home battery backup explained.

How we chose these

  • LFP (LiFePO4) battery with a published cycle rating.
  • At least about 1.5 kWh and enough AC output for a refrigerator.
  • Automatic switchover (UPS or APS) time published, so devices stay on when the grid drops.
  • Weight and warranty stated.

Capacity is the size of the tank; continuous AC output is how much you can run at once. Check the running watts of your fridge, furnace blower or medical device against the output figure, and check the maker’s compatibility notes for any medical equipment.

Comparison table

Power station Capacity Continuous AC output Switchover Cycle rating Weight Warranty
Goal Zero Yeti 1500 1,505 Wh 2,000 W (3,600 W surge) Under 15 ms (APS) 4,000 to 80% 52.75 lb 5 years
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 2,042 Wh 2,200 W Under 20 ms (UPS) 4,000+ About 39.5 lb 5 years (from Jackery.com)
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max 2,048 Wh 2,400 W (4,800 W surge; X-Boost to 3,400 W) 10 ms Not given as a number 20.3 kg 3 years + 2 with app registration
EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max 2,048 Wh (to 6,144 Wh with 2 extra batteries) 2,400 W (X-Boost to 3,400 W) Not stated on page 3,000+ 50 lb (23 kg) 5 years
EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 4 kWh (expandable 4 to 48 kWh) 4,000 W at 120/240 V Under 20 ms backup UPS; 0 ms online UPS 4,000 to 80% Not listed in text 3 years + 2 with app registration

Switchover times are each maker’s own figures for its UPS or APS mode. A power station is not a replacement for a properly installed transfer switch for hard-wired circuits.

1. Goal Zero Yeti 1500: for essentials and lots of ports

Goal Zero’s Yeti 1500 has a 1,505 Wh LiFePO4 battery and a 2,000 W pure sine wave inverter, with automatic power switching from grid to battery in under 15 ms. It accepts up to 900 W of solar, which Goal Zero says recharges it in about 3 hours, and has a 12 V high power port rated at 405 W for vehicle or custom installs.

  • 4,000 cycles to 80% of original capacity at 25 °C (Goal Zero).
  • Weight 52.75 lb (23.93 kg).

Pros: fast APS switchover; 900 W solar input; 5-year warranty.
Cons: heaviest unit for its capacity here; smallest capacity here.

Check the Goal Zero Yeti 1500 on Amazon

2. Jackery Explorer 2000 v2: for a light 2 kWh unit

The Explorer 2000 v2 packs 2,042 Wh of LFP capacity into a unit Jackery puts at about 39.5 pounds, the lightest 2 kWh unit here, and says it runs under 30 dB. Its 2,200 W output handles a refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker, and Jackery says AC recharge from empty to full takes about 1.7 hours.

  • UPS switchover under 20 ms (Jackery).
  • Jackery rates its LFP cells for 4,000+ charge cycles. Warranty is 5 years when bought at Jackery.com.

Pros: light for 2 kWh; quiet; fast AC recharge.
Cons: not expandable on this page; 5-year warranty applies to direct purchases.

Check the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 on Amazon

3. EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (2048Wh): for the fastest switchover

EcoFlow’s DELTA 3 Max switches to battery in 10 ms, which EcoFlow says keeps NAS units and servers running. It has 2,400 W of rated output, and EcoFlow’s X-Boost mode lets it run heavy-duty appliances up to 3,400 W. With 1,800 W AC input it charges to 80% in about 68 minutes, and EcoFlow rates it at 25 dB or less at 600 W.

  • Weight 20.3 kg, which EcoFlow says is 13% lighter than its previous 2 kWh generation.
  • Warranty: 3 years standard plus 2 years when registered in the EcoFlow app.

Pros: 10 ms switchover; highest output of the 2 kWh units; quiet.
Cons: EcoFlow gives a 10-year service life rather than a cycle count on this page.

Check the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (2048Wh) on Amazon

4. EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max: for adding batteries later

The DELTA 2 Max has the same 2,048 Wh and 2,400 W headline figures as the DELTA 3 Max, but EcoFlow lets you add up to two DELTA 2 Max Smart Extra Batteries for 6,144 Wh. EcoFlow rates the LFP battery for 3,000+ cycles, or about 10 years of daily use to 80% capacity, and it has 15 outputs including 6 AC outlets.

  • Net weight 50 lb (23 kg) (EcoFlow).
  • App lets you prioritize solar or AC charging.

Pros: expandable to about 6 kWh; 5-year warranty; many outlets.
Cons: heavier than the DELTA 3 Max; switchover time not stated on this page.

Check the EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max on Amazon

5. EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3: for 240 V appliances and whole-home expansion

DELTA Pro 3 is the only unit here with 240 V output. EcoFlow says a single 4 kWh unit can deliver 4,000 W at 120 and 240 V and run a 3-ton central air conditioner, and the system expands from 4 to 48 kWh. It lists a backup UPS mode under 20 ms and an online UPS mode at 0 ms, and EcoFlow’s listing title notes UL 9540 certification.

  • Solar input up to 2,600 W over two ports (EcoFlow).
  • LFP cells retain 80% capacity after 4,000 cycles (EcoFlow).

Pros: 240 V output; largest capacity and expansion; online UPS mode.
Cons: far more than most people need for a few essentials; weight not listed in the page text.

Check the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 on Amazon

Which one fits you

You want to back up Look at Why
Router, lights, phone charging Goal Zero Yeti 1500 1.5 kWh with fast switchover
A fridge through a day-long outage Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 or EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max About 2 kWh and over 2,000 W
Computers and network gear EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max 10 ms switchover
Start small, add batteries later EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Expands to about 6 kWh
240 V appliances or whole-home circuits EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 120/240 V, expandable to 48 kWh

Practical tips

  • Add up the running watts of everything you plan to plug in at once and keep the total under the continuous AC output; see our capacity guide for the energy side.
  • For wiring to home circuits, use a licensed electrician; see our home solar battery guide.

Sources

Specifications from each manufacturer’s product page, checked 26 October 2026: Goal Zero Yeti 1500, Jackery Explorer 2000 v2, EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max (2048Wh), EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max, EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3. Makers can change specifications; check the product page before you buy.